Over 130 table tennis teams to vie for CM trophy



A TOTAL of 137 teams comprising 320 players will be competing in the Penang Chief Minister Table Tennis Championship 2019 on June 22 and 23.

The championship will be held at the MSN/PTTA Training Centre, Macallum Street Ghaut in George Town.

“Entries are invited for the six events to promote and popularise the sport to all primary and secondary schools,” Penang Table Tennis Association (PTTA) president Datuk Michael Tiah told a press conference held at MSN/PTTS Training Centre at Macallum Street Ghaut today.

Tiah added that they hoped to unearth young talents for the promotion of table tennis at federal and state levels.

Also present were former assemblyman Lau Keng Ee and PTTA vice-president Datuk Ang Aing Thye.

Chief Minister Chow Kon Yeow will officiate the opening ceremony of the tournament at 1.45pm on June 22.

The top eight teams will receive cash prizes, ranging from RM500 to RM80, plus trophy and medals while the ninth to 12th teams will receive RM50 each.

The competition is open to all schools in Penang and the entry fee is RM30 per team.

For further information, contact Teoh Kean Lim (012-4312028) / Wong Jia Ying (04-3701722).

Story by Danny Ooi
Pix by Chan Kok Kuan