12 PHEB commissioners reappointed for 2022



A TOTAL of 12 Penang Hindu Endowment Board (PHEB) commissioners have been reappointed for another term from Jan 1 until Dec 31 this year.

In announcing the reappointment of PHEB commissioners in Komtar today, Chief Minister Chow Kon Yeow said their reappointments came after being agreed upon by state authorities.

“All of them are professionals, such as parliamentarians, state assemblymen, civil servants, lawyers, directors, businessmen and representatives from the non-governmental organisations (NGOs).

“The appointees are from all walks of life with diverse qualities and backgrounds.

“Congratulations to them on their reappointments to this new 2022 term,” he told reporters before giving out the appointment letters to the PHEB commissioners.

The commissioners are Deputy Chief Minister II Dr P. Ramasamy, Bagan Dalam assemblyman M. Satees, Jelutong MP RSN Rayer, R. Surentharan, Datuk A. Tanasekharan, Datuk Sr Kuvenaraju Pachappen, Datuk Murelidaran M. Navaratnam, Datuk Jugal Kishor Shivlal, Santha K. Muthu, Anilarasu Amaranazan, Kaliyappan P. Renganathan and Thanabalan Nanda Kumar.

Earlier, Chow said the state has allocated a total of RM1.5 million to PHEB yearly.

He added that the board has also contributed about RM4 million to a total of 2,833 undergraduate students in public and private universities from 2008 to 2021.

Story by Edmund Lee
Pix by Muhamad Amir Irsyad Omar
Video by Noor Siti Nabilah Noorazis